May 25

Tags

Cool Trick: End of Year Wrap-up for Google Classroom

If you used Google Classroom throughout the year, you probably loaded a whole bunch of assignments, announcements, questions, and more. At least some of that material is still viable for teaching the same class next year. So, how do you keep that material for next year? Here’s what not to do.

  • Don’t delete the class and start over. That’s too much work.
  • Don’t remove all the students and try to modify through deleting and keeping material, readying it for new student invitations.
  • Don’t panic.

Google allows you to archive a Classroom, but use its material for the next year’s class. Here’s how you can do that:

  1. Look at your dashboard, the tile-based list of Classrooms you have.
  2. Click in the top-right, three-dot control of the Classroom tile.
  3. Select “Archive.”
  4. Create your new class.
  5. In the bottom-right of the Classroom screen, click the plus button.
  6. Select “Reuse.”
  7. Browse through the class list and select the archived class.
  8. Select the post and click the “Reuse” button.

That’s it!

If you’d like more help, check out the tutorial below.

By the way, archiving Classrooms is an excellent way to clean up your Google Classroom dashboard. And, if you ever wondered how to delete a Classroom, you can only do that from the archive. Once in the archive, you can delete a Classroom. This two-step process reduces the likelihood of accidental deletion.